members sign-in



About Us

Membership of the Association

All Consular appointments are made on the authority of the respective Governments, and are confirmed by a Letter of Appointment signed by the Head of the Sending State or its Foreign Minister, after having been approved by the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

The Welsh Diplomatic Corps now includes the representatives of 29 countries, 28 of them are based in Wales, namely Belarus, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Iceland, Jordan, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand and Tunisia. The Welsh Affairs Officer of the United States of America is based at the U.S. Embassy in London.

Qualifications and Appointment of Consuls

Members of the Consular Corps are appointed because their personal qualifications and social standing make them suitable to perform their duties capably and represent their Countries effectively. With Honorary Consuls emphasis is placed on the technical capabilities necessary for carrying out the duties required of a particular Consulate.

Consuls General, Consuls, and other Consular Officials in Wales, whether they are Career Diplomats or Honorary Consuls, are all appointed on the authority of the Governments of the sending States to an Embassy or other Diplomatic Representation in the United Kingdom. Each appointee has received a Letter of Commission which is recognised by the Government of the United Kingdom as conferring diplomatic standing in accordance with the Vienna Convention.

Honorary Consuls are more often citizens of the receiving country than of the country they represent.

© The Consular Association in Wales